facebooklinkedin

Guest Reviews of our Holiday Apartments and Villas

These are some samples of genuine reviews from our guests for our apartments.  If you would like proof that they are genuine or to read more please ask and I will direct you to the secure site where they were submitted.  I will add new reviews from time to time.....

Reviews for Artistes Tresor

 

Date of stay:  May 2015

Beautiful apartment , lovely old town , superb position and views which a photo cannot do justice. Stayed here in May with 3 generations of family and everyone had a wonderful time. Everything on your doorstep , great restaurants , beach, waterfront and few mins walk to train station enough to keep everybody happy and relaxed. Evenings spent on the terrace playing cards and drinking wine. The apartment itself is well furnished and you wouldn't want for anything. Special mention for Sue who met us, arranged pick up and was overall a very jolly and a nice person. Do not hesitate to book this apartment. Thank you.

  • Date of Stay: May 2015

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at your Artistes Tresor apartment. The apartment itself was spacious and tastefully decorated whilst the balcony allowed us to enjoy the wonderful setting. The apartment was also well located to enjoy the many great local restaurants. Sue Bromwich was very welcoming and helpful and kindly arranged all our taxi journeys to and from the airport including those when our daughter joined us for a few days.

Overall it was a wonderful holiday and we would definitely consider a return visit. 

 

A little slice of Heaven
Date of Stay: August 2014

What a little gem Artistes Tresor is! My family (me plus my husband and three teenage sons) stayed here for a week and we couldn't have been more comfortable. We really felt like part of the community .. The apartment is right in the old town on the second floor of an old building with great views over the bay. We spent hours sitting on the lovely little balcony happily watching the boats coming in and out of the bay. Tip: bring binoculars for better spying! It was an easy stroll to all the restaurants in the town and the little supermarket is almost next door! The beach is also an easy stroll along the harbour wall. And the train station is a five minute walk down the hill and gives access to lots of interesting places up and down the coast - we made day trips to Eze and Ventimiglia in Italy.

The apartment is very comfortable and immaculately clean and felt like a home from home. The owner has a policy of leaving things that other guests have left so the kitchen had salt, pepper, sugar, tea, coffee, oil, vinegar, washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs and even some foodstuffs like rice and pasta etc. I have rented lots of properties and i have never seen this before - it made such a difference not to have to go out and buy all these things! Thank you Mattie! Sue, the property manager, met us from our taxi and showed us to the apartment and gave us tips on what to do and where to eat etc. and even booked a taxi for one of our sons who had to leave earlier than us - she couldn't have been more charming or helpful.
I cannot recommend Artistes Tresor highly enough!

Reviews for Villa Grace

June 2015

We stayed at villa grace for 10 days and all i can say is wow, what a fantastic place, everything about the house is quality, from the decor, beds, furnishings,location, everything. the view over the old port is to die for, very easy walking to beeches, shopping, dining, train station, buses, we loved it. we were met by susan, who had arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport, what a lovley lady she is, after showing us around the villa, told us of some of the better eating places, markets, shops, beeches etc, which gave us a good start to our stay there.we could not fault it. would love to stay there again .

Stay 27th July to 24th September 2014 

We stayed at Villa Grace for just over two months of summer 2014. The purpose of the visit was to attend the Institut de Francais.  After a horrendous experience in the old town - hell on earth in an over priced run down grotty flat - we could not believe our fortune to have booked this property for the rest of our stay.
It felt like home.  The renovation is of a high standard and all the furnishings supremely comfortable. The owner takes great pride in this property (it's their principal home in France) and it shows. Every day it was a great pleasure to come back here and to spend time in this house. The views across the water towards Cap Ferrat are sublime. I thought the location excellent, with bus stop a stone's throw away, and a leisurely level walk to bank and shops and the local market. Everything about this place is quality: the kitchen, bathrooms, beds, linen, living room furniture. Everything. We were looked after so well too by the agent who handled this place. It was all totally professional, warm and friendly. Over the course of the few months we had a few very minor maintenance matters that were attended to immediately and with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. This place is definitely one of the best in VIllefranche - and believe me, I saw quite a few in the three month stay. Highly recommended.

Reviews for Petit Tresor

 

June 2015

 

We stayed for one week and it was perfect. The location is 5 mins walk from town/beach and the market is in the little square at the bottom of the road. So is the main bus stop for Riviera and the tourist office. Apartment has everything you need, is smart, clean and has a view from the terrace which is better than the picture! Would definitely stay here again. Just note that the last 100 meters of the walk back is uphill!

 

 

Date of Stay : May 2015

 

The pictures do not do the apartment justice. It is beautifully appointed, impeccable and provides everything one needs for a comfortable stay. I chose the apartment for its proximity to the Institut de Francais (it directly faces the school's garden entrance), but I was delighted to discover how convenient it is to shopping and transportation, and how quickly one could walk to the port. (I had attended the Institut last year, and was already familiar with the hill situation.) The balcony is the highlight. My boyfriend joined me for a week's visit after the school session and we especially enjoyed having drinks or dinner overlooking the Mediterranean and the Rade, with a great view of fireworks, too! We had one of the most enjoyable vacations of our lives. Merci, beaucoup, Sue!

Date of Stay: June 2014
The location of this apartment is such that through one door of the apartment building access to l'institut is just steps away, while through another lower door, the village is just a five minute walk. I have lived here for 4 weeks and I could not give a higher recommendation. As I have described the apartment to others, it feels immediately as if you are staying in the home of a friend. The terrace is rich with flowers and comfortable chairs and a table to prepare your homework, drink a glass of wine and/or sit down for dinner, and the view is as the french would say, 'super'.

The luxuries of this apartment I find, are: the silent but wonderful ceiling fan in the bedroom which allows for a cool and mosquito free nights sleep, the beautifully renovated bathroom equipped with a tub for soaking, a rain shower and a hand held shower, the cleanliness of the apartment, the quietness of being just slightly off of the main village road which stays busy until all hours of the night, the constant breeze from being on the hillside (which isn't apparent in the village) that cools the apartment in the evening, the beautiful morning sunshine on the terrace with coffee before class, and the short walk home, just two blocks, after a late dinner or a night out with drinks in the village.

Sue, the owner of the apartment, is very welcoming and nice and lives close by. She has been very helpful throughout my stay with all of my questions about Villefranche, transport, restaurants, sights, etc... I hope that I might come every year to Villefranche for study and that I will always be able to stay in this apartment.

 

Here is a letter sent by Terry Beard after his stay for one month a Petit Tresor

Chères Susan and Mattie,
September 2014
It is always the people! Word of mouth! Mattie Silman is "the real estate go to person" in Villefranche and along La Côte D'Azur.
Susan, Mattie connected me with you and to your beautiful and cozy apartment. Thank you, Mattie! It was a real treat to have made the connection to you ladies. Thank you, Hans Witt! You linked me with the keys to the kingdom.

Susan, your 500 square foot apartment with a 200 sq. ft. balcony overlooking the Mediterranean has it all. I look forward to returning next spring. Please do not ever hesitate to have any of your potential clients contact me personally for a referral. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Merci beaucoup!
Très cordialement,
Terry Beard

Review for Villa le Studio

Date of Stay: June 2014
Great base for exploring the South of France
We stayed at Villa le Studio for a week in the beginning of June. The apartment looks exactly like the pictures posted online and is in excellent condition: luxurious and comfortable. The view from the living room onto the bay is amazing. We couldn't stop looking out the window and saying "We can't believe we're here!"

The parking space makes this place an ideal base for exploring the south of France for vacationers with a car. The beach is about a 10-15 walk from the apartment, with the old town being along the way. The kitchen is great for preparing some meals at home and enjoying breakfast on the wonderful balcony. Wifi in the apartment allows you to stay in touch.

After spending the day in town, the walk uphill back to the apartment allows you to work off some of the calories from the copious goodies you eat. The walk home up the hill may be a challenge for some, but we found it invigorating. Wonderful place, with easy check-in and out, and great amenities. Would love to come back!

Reviews for La Barcasse

 

The details of the apartment are very accurate from the contents to the location description. It is so well maintained and in an immaculate condition. You are met by the manager ,who fully explains the working of everything and leaves a contact number in case you have any issues. The apartment is so accessible ,for the beach ,shops, train bus and taxis .There are plenty of bars and restaurants to suit all price ranges and diets ,I am vegetarian and can always find choices. The views from the balcony are indeed stunning and it is so lovely to watch the boats ,the market or just the time of day. There is something quite unique about the apartment ,in that you don't feel it is a holiday apartment ,but more of a home ,due to all of the facilities and equipment within. I would really recommend this apartment ,we have stayed there twice now and have just booked up for a third visit.

 

May 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Barcasse for three weeks at the beginning of May 2014 and found it ideally suited to our needs. The apartment is located very close to the water in the old town of Villefranche and looks down on the Cocteau chapel, onto restaurants & onto a small market that gathers almost daily to cater to passengers brought in on tenders from giant cruise ships that moor out in the deep water bay.

The apartment is compact and newly renovated -- including the kitchen and bathroom -- with most everything one needs for daily living. A proper chef's knife would have been welcome. There is a (small) supermarche quite nearby up the hill along with a bakery and green grocer so that basic shopping needs are readily met. There are many restaurants to choose among. Walks in both directions (toward Cap Ferrat & around the Citadel) are a pleasure. Citadel is remarkable and has 3 small museums.

It is most convenient to visit La Barcasse without a car as parking would be a problem and the bus service, though crowded, works well to visit Nice, Cap Ferrat, Monaco, Menton, Vence and Eze. Nice merits several visits. The 100 & 81 buses run along the Bas Corniche but to reach Eze you need to take the 80 bus to change at the Moyenne Corniche. Views from both corniches are amazing. The train is less crowded and recommended to travel to Monaco or Menton to avoid standing on the bus. Also the train is the way to get to Cannes. Views from the train are less amazing. We were lucky with the weather except for a couple of days and, therefore, overall enjoyed our stay greatly.

Reviews for Villa les Fauvettes

22 September 2014

Last spring, an online search for Villefranche villas led our group of seven to Villa Les Fauvettes, and the reality did not disappoint. A more luxurious, relaxing and convenient Riviera location would be hard to imagine. The central location is within walking distance of the Old Town and offers easy driving or rail access to Cannes, Nice, Monaco, Provence and the Italian border. The layout of separate suites within the villa itself afforded privacy between our shared times around the pool and at mealtimes on the expansive terrace.

As the sun went down and the lights of Villefranche and Cap Ferrat came on, the views out across the harbour were simply stunning. The Villa was well-maintained, the bedrooms airy and restful, and the large, modern kitchen easy to use. Mattie was our helpful first contact, and Christina our gracious, on-site host who was quick to respond to the few questions that we had. There is ample covered parking off a quiet lane, while the Villa’s lush gardens only add to that sense of opulence and ease that befits a vacation on the Côte d’Azur.

 

Reviews for Les Flots Bleu

Date of Stay: Feb 2015

The first time we stayed in Les Flots Bleus in the late 1990s was a magical time for us. In the intervening years, we stayed in several other apartments in Villefranche. So we were pleased to come back this year to the apartment which offered a freshly decorated, comfortable setting.

Overlooking the bay with a wonderful view of Cap Ferret and surrounding areas, we found the location most convenient to restaurants, Old Town shopping, and the buses and trains that took us to surrounding cities to sight-see and visit extraordinary museums.

During our three weeks in the apartment this year, our days started with coffee and local pastries on the open balcony. Early morning trips to the patisserie and news stand up the hill were very convenient. On days that we ate meals in the apartment we were impressed by the updated, modern kitchen and dining area, which also accommodated friends who joined on occasion.

A good number of local restaurants are within walking distance and offer excellent lunches and dinners that enhanced our vacation time there.

We look forward to returning again in the future to enjoy the wonderful apartment and surroundings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date of Stay: Mar 2015


Villefranche is a delightful little town just a few kilometers from Nice which has the attraction of being a bit off the beaten path but still near many wonderful attractions.This apartment is ideally located with a sweeping view of the bay. The kitchen has been recently updated and is a pleasure to cook in, all the rooms are comfortable and spacious and beautifully decorated. There is only one loo so most suitable for a group which is comfortable with that arrangement. I wish I could live there!

We're a family of four who were fortunate enough to stay in this lovely apartment for two weeks in August 2014. The location is ideal - close to the beach, train station and village. It is comfortably furnished and the views are absolutely stunning. A definite highlight of our vacation was sitting on the balcony taking in the view. Mattie was very helpful and check in/out with Sue was easy. We can't wait to return!

Review for Le Grand Palais

 

My husband, my children aged 7 and 9 and myself stayed in this recently renovated apartment in Villefranche at end of July 2014. We had a marvellous time. The apartment is centrally located with easy access to supermarket, ATM and other convenience shops. The apartment is very spacious and the view breathtaking. The beach is only a few minutes walk from the apartment. There are plenty of great restaurants to choose from - all within walking distance. I would highly recommend this apartment for a perfect holiday and we will definitely be returning to it again.