facebooklinkedin

Guest Reviews of our Holiday Apartments and Villas

These are some samples of genuine reviews from our guests for our apartments.  If you would like proof that they are genuine or to read more please ask and I will direct you to the secure site where they were submitted.  I will add new reviews from time to time.....

Reviews for Artistes Tresor

 July 2017

 Had a lovely time in Villefranche; lovely to be so central, in the old town and with a sea view. The apartment was just as the photo's. It was great that the apartment had a store cupboard of herbs and oils which were very useful if you decided to eat in and enjoy the sea view, without having to go out. Although there are many restaurants; 5 within a few paces of the main entrance. With being in the old town, the area is car free so quiet from vehicular traffic. Lovely to have 3 bakeries within a short walk, so could start the morning with a freshly baked croissant sitting on the balcony planning the day. Public transport was frequent and inexpensive so made it easy to explore the local area, and with the train station within easy walking distance it was also inexpensive to explore further afield such as Monaco. Really appreciated the apartment having beach towels, snorkelling and other beach accessories. We used the beach at Villefranche and others on Cap Feret. The sea was amazingly clear and plenty of fish to see.

June 2017

The apartment was very spacious, nicely decorated and had amazing views of the bay. It was really nice seeing the very expensive yachts arriving. The apartment was very well placed amongst the restaurants and I can't imagine a better location! Sue and Mattie were very helpful arranging our transport and telling us where everywhere is and the best places to go. Quick train ride to the Monaco Grand Prix. Will definitely return

May 2017

Beautiful apartment , lovely old town , superb position and views which a photo cannot do justice. Stayed here in May with 3 generations of family and everyone had a wonderful time. Everything on your doorstep , great restaurants , beach, waterfront and few mins walk to train station enough to keep everybody happy and relaxed. Evenings spent on the terrace playing cards and drinking wine. The apartment itself is well furnished and you wouldn't want for anything. Special mention for Sue who met us, arranged pick up and was overall a very jolly and a nice person. Do not hesitate to book this apartment. Thank you.

  • May 2016

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at your Artistes Tresor apartment. The apartment itself was spacious and tastefully decorated whilst the balcony allowed us to enjoy the wonderful setting. The apartment was also well located to enjoy the many great local restaurants. Sue Bromwich was very welcoming and helpful and kindly arranged all our taxi journeys to and from the airport including those when our daughter joined us for a few days.

Overall it was a wonderful holiday and we would definitely consider a return visit. 

 

August 2016

A little slice of Heaven .    What a little gem Artistes Tresor is! My family (me plus my husband and three teenage sons) stayed here for a week and we couldn't have been more comfortable. We really felt like part of the community .. The apartment is right in the old town on the second floor of an old building with great views over the bay. We spent hours sitting on the lovely little balcony happily watching the boats coming in and out of the bay. Tip: bring binoculars for better spying! It was an easy stroll to all the restaurants in the town and the little supermarket is almost next door! The beach is also an easy stroll along the harbour wall. And the train station is a five minute walk down the hill and gives access to lots of interesting places up and down the coast - we made day trips to Eze and Ventimiglia in Italy.

The apartment is very comfortable and immaculately clean and felt like a home from home. The owner has a policy of leaving things that other guests have left so the kitchen had salt, pepper, sugar, tea, coffee, oil, vinegar, washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs and even some foodstuffs like rice and pasta etc. I have rented lots of properties and i have never seen this before - it made such a difference not to have to go out and buy all these things! Thank you Mattie! Sue, the property manager, met us from our taxi and showed us to the apartment and gave us tips on what to do and where to eat etc. and even booked a taxi for one of our sons who had to leave earlier than us - she couldn't have been more charming or helpful.
I cannot recommend Artistes Tresor highly enough!

Reviews for Petit Tresor

July 2017

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic three week holiday, staying at Petit Tresor. This was our second stay in the apartment and on arrival it was just as perfect as we remembered it to be. The views from the balcony are superb and the location is perfect. Walking distance to both local beaches and the wonderful restaurants and bars. The apartment was spotless and the owner had arranged for cleaning visits throughout the duration of our stay. Contact in the run up and duration of our stay was brilliant and efficient and they were incredibly helpful in arranging taxis to and from the airport. We have already enquired about returning next year!

September 2016

Maria said.....Beautifully maintained apartment and spotlessly clean and comfortable. I am fussy so was impressed. The location is lovely and peaceful as I have stayed in the heart of the village before and it can be noisy. I loved it and will be back.

 June 2017

 We stayed for one week and it was perfect. The location is 5 mins walk from town/beach and the market is in the little square at the bottom of the road. So is the main bus stop for Riviera and the tourist office. Apartment has everything you need, is smart, clean and has a view from the terrace which is better than the picture! Would definitely stay here again. Just note that the last 100 meters of the walk back is uphill!

May 2017

The pictures do not do the apartment justice. It is beautifully appointed, impeccable and provides everything one needs for a comfortable stay. I chose the apartment for its proximity to the Institut de Francais (it directly faces the school's garden entrance), but I was delighted to discover how convenient it is to shopping and transportation, and how quickly one could walk to the port. (I had attended the Institut last year, and was already familiar with the hill situation.) The balcony is the highlight. My boyfriend joined me for a week's visit after the school session and we especially enjoyed having drinks or dinner overlooking the Mediterranean and the Rade, with a great view of fireworks, too! We had one of the most enjoyable vacations of our lives. Merci, beaucoup, Sue!

June 2016


The location of this apartment is such that through one door of the apartment building access to l'institut is just steps away, while through another lower door, the village is just a five minute walk. I have lived here for 4 weeks and I could not give a higher recommendation. As I have described the apartment to others, it feels immediately as if you are staying in the home of a friend. The terrace is rich with flowers and comfortable chairs and a table to prepare your homework, drink a glass of wine and/or sit down for dinner, and the view is as the french would say, 'super'.

The luxuries of this apartment I find, are: the silent but wonderful ceiling fan in the bedroom which allows for a cool and mosquito free nights sleep, the beautifully renovated bathroom equipped with a tub for soaking, a rain shower and a hand held shower, the cleanliness of the apartment, the quietness of being just slightly off of the main village road which stays busy until all hours of the night, the constant breeze from being on the hillside (which isn't apparent in the village) that cools the apartment in the evening, the beautiful morning sunshine on the terrace with coffee before class, and the short walk home, just two blocks, after a late dinner or a night out with drinks in the village.

Sue, the owner of the apartment, is very welcoming and nice and lives close by. She has been very helpful throughout my stay with all of my questions about Villefranche, transport, restaurants, sights, etc... I hope that I might come every year to Villefranche for study and that I will always be able to stay in this apartment.

 

Here is a letter sent by Terry Beard after his stay for one month a Petit Tresor

Chères Susan and Mattie,
September 2015
It is always the people! Word of mouth! Mattie Silman is "the real estate go to person" in Villefranche and along La Côte D'Azur.
Susan, Mattie connected me with you and to your beautiful and cozy apartment. Thank you, Mattie! It was a real treat to have made the connection to you ladies. Thank you, Hans Witt! You linked me with the keys to the kingdom.

Susan, your 500 square foot apartment with a 200 sq. ft. balcony overlooking the Mediterranean has it all. I look forward to returning next spring. Please do not ever hesitate to have any of your potential clients contact me personally for a referral. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Merci beaucoup!
Très cordialement,
Terry Beard

Review for Villa le Studio

June 2017


Great base for exploring the South of France
We stayed at Villa le Studio for a week in the beginning of June. The apartment looks exactly like the pictures posted online and is in excellent condition: luxurious and comfortable. The view from the living room onto the bay is amazing. We couldn't stop looking out the window and saying "We can't believe we're here!"

The parking space makes this place an ideal base for exploring the south of France for vacationers with a car. The beach is about a 10-15 walk from the apartment, with the old town being along the way. The kitchen is great for preparing some meals at home and enjoying breakfast on the wonderful balcony. Wifi in the apartment allows you to stay in touch.

After spending the day in town, the walk uphill back to the apartment allows you to work off some of the calories from the copious goodies you eat. The walk home up the hill may be a challenge for some, but we found it invigorating. Wonderful place, with easy check-in and out, and great amenities. Would love to come back!

Reviews for Villa les Fauvettes

July 2017

Been renting villas on the Riviera since the 70s and this is the best yet. Excellent property, high quality equipment, plenty of space for our group of 9. Wonderful location high above the harbor with views across to Cap Ferrat and within walking distance of the town. Good train and bus service along the coast so we didn't rent a car. Strongly recommend you take a taxi from the airport, using Mattie's favorite, Jean Frederic; she'll book it for you. For provisions there is a local supermarket which delivers but we preferred to use the local shops and the little market on Wednesday and Sunday. Caution, this is where the Alps meet the sea so there are plenty of fairly steep climbs if you are on foot; our group aged from 40s to 70s did fine, but if you are badly out of shape or disabled think carefully about it.

 

June 2017

This property under promised and outperformed! To the degree that Villefranche has one of the most beautiful harbors anywhere, the views from this house are beyond amazing! The home is in three sections, each with a kitchen. Beyond plenty of space and privacy. Pool was quite comfortable. Living room and dining room were way bigger than the pictures showed. Decor was tasteful and comfortable. And everything was spotless, clean, and easy. Communication was excellent and manager was prompt and easy to work with. Everything about it was wonderful and I would recommend and return! For families, be aware there are quite a few steps to access the home from the garage, and even more once you are in it. No problems at all with them but someone with mobility issues could be challenged. And with many homes, bathrooms/showers were a bit smaller than our US accommodations. That said, the living space was wonderful and the various areas allowed for lots of privacy if you wanted to get away from the crowd. Last it is a hilly ten minute jaunt to town. It is a charming and beautiful walk, but it is a walk. Truly lovely! Thank you for a wonderful spot!

 

June 2017

We absolutely loved the house and Villefranche in general. The house was perfect for our group of 7, just enough space to spread out and have some privacy, but not too big. The beds were comfortable, the pool lovely and the view fantastic. We agreed we would love to return sometime.

22 September 2016

Last spring, an online search for Villefranche villas led our group of seven to Villa Les Fauvettes, and the reality did not disappoint. A more luxurious, relaxing and convenient Riviera location would be hard to imagine. The central location is within walking distance of the Old Town and offers easy driving or rail access to Cannes, Nice, Monaco, Provence and the Italian border. The layout of separate suites within the villa itself afforded privacy between our shared times around the pool and at mealtimes on the expansive terrace.

As the sun went down and the lights of Villefranche and Cap Ferrat came on, the views out across the harbour were simply stunning. The Villa was well-maintained, the bedrooms airy and restful, and the large, modern kitchen easy to use. Mattie was our helpful first contact, and Christina our gracious, on-site host who was quick to respond to the few questions that we had. There is ample covered parking off a quiet lane, while the Villa’s lush gardens only add to that sense of opulence and ease that befits a vacation on the Côte d’Azur.

 

 

Reviews for Les Flots Bleu

 

May 2017

Too often French apartments seem to equate cramped and inconvenient with quaint and authentic, but from the moment you walk in, Les Flots Bleus is open and welcoming. It is light and airy, the view is superb,and the sofas are so-o-o- comfortable. The kitchen is a good size and incredibly well-equipped, and the bathroom, while small, is very functional particularly with the separate loo. After 3 weeks of suffering various shower-in-bath combinations in other locations, the huge shower was an unexpected bonus that we just loved. Villefranche itself is a lovely village and a great centre for exploring this end of the Riviera from Nice to Monaco, and of course the location right by the railway station is very convenient, and surprisingly not at all noisy. We spent a lot of time just hanging out on the lovely balcony watching the world go by from 8 storeys up. All in all a beautiful, newly-renovated apartment, comfortable and well-maintained. We would love to come back again.

May 2017

Loved this apt and hope to return so almost hate to rave about it for fear it will not be available again. It was our fourth stay on the Côte and our best. One must do his due diligence in choosing a flat for a month's stay off season. It must be comfortable for those not so nice days when you choose to be indoors. Les Flots was certainly that...both on sunny days and cloudy days.First off Mattie was very pleasant and obliging in answering all our many questions prior to booking.Thankyou. Sue met us and was efficient in pointing out the amenities and workings of the apt. Aside from returning our security deposit, there was no ongoing contact.The high rise bldg is well kept with an elevator.Hurrah! It is wonderfully situated close to the train station and the beach.This proved to be a major bonus! Owing to previous experiences with apts, we chose one that would not involve 'hikes' up and down.Again perfect location. Now the apt...fell in love at once. No issues...clean, bright, airey, well appointed and uncluttered with a spacious feel. A good working kitchen...imperative when staying a month.Good shower, water pressure lots of hot water. Comfy bed, nice linens, fluffy towels.Needed extra sheets for a months stay but that has been addressed for the future.All those things by themselves say 'home' but the biggest feature at Les Flots is the drop-dead gorgeous view from the expansive balcony. Unobstructed and sweeping. We ate lunch there and sipped rosé almost everyday. It was hard to pull ourselves away. This apt is a gem! One of our best rental properties ever.

Feb 2017

The first time we stayed in Les Flots Bleus in the late 1990s was a magical time for us. In the intervening years, we stayed in several other apartments in Villefranche. So we were pleased to come back this year to the apartment which offered a freshly decorated, comfortable setting.

Overlooking the bay with a wonderful view of Cap Ferret and surrounding areas, we found the location most convenient to restaurants, Old Town shopping, and the buses and trains that took us to surrounding cities to sight-see and visit extraordinary museums.

During our three weeks in the apartment this year, our days started with coffee and local pastries on the open balcony. Early morning trips to the patisserie and news stand up the hill were very convenient. On days that we ate meals in the apartment we were impressed by the updated, modern kitchen and dining area, which also accommodated friends who joined on occasion.

A good number of local restaurants are within walking distance and offer excellent lunches and dinners that enhanced our vacation time there.

We look forward to returning again in the future to enjoy the wonderful apartment and surroundings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date of Stay: April 2017


Villefranche is a delightful little town just a few kilometers from Nice which has the attraction of being a bit off the beaten path but still near many wonderful attractions.This apartment is ideally located with a sweeping view of the bay. The kitchen has been recently updated and is a pleasure to cook in, all the rooms are comfortable and spacious and beautifully decorated. There is only one loo so most suitable for a group which is comfortable with that arrangement. I wish I could live there!

We're a family of four who were fortunate enough to stay in this lovely apartment for two weeks in August 2014. The location is ideal - close to the beach, train station and village. It is comfortably furnished and the views are absolutely stunning. A definite highlight of our vacation was sitting on the balcony taking in the view. Mattie was very helpful and check in/out with Sue was easy. We can't wait to return!

Reviews for Le Grand Palais

 June 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Villefranche sir mer. This is a nice apartment with air conditioning and a beautiful view of the bay. It is across from a park with different markets each day and there is a lovely boulangerie downstairs. We had a car and there was extremely limited parking but they accommodated us with a spot about a 10 minute walk up a very steep hill. Make sure you are clear about what security deposits are due in cash when you check in. This was my first time renting an apartment and I didn't have my email with me that outlined the deposit. Overall, the people renting the place for the owners were very nice and accommodating and the place was very nice.

July 2016

My husband, my children aged 7 and 9 and myself stayed in this recently renovated apartment in Villefranche at end of July 2016. We had a marvellous time. The apartment is centrally located with easy access to supermarket, ATM and other convenience shops. The apartment is very spacious and the view breathtaking. The beach is only a few minutes walk from the apartment. There are plenty of great restaurants to choose from - all within walking distance. I would highly recommend this apartment for a perfect holiday and we will definitely be returning to it again.

 

Reviews For Bella Vista

 July 2017

Stayed in Bella Vista for 2 truly wonderful weeks with my wife and youngest daughter (age 13). The apartment couldn't be better positioned or equipped. And waking up to those glorious views every morning was just magical especially watching the sun rise over St. Jean Cap Ferrat. Beautiful! Another pleasant surprise for us was that when you close the shutters and balcony windows for the night to retire, it is surprisingly quiet and peaceful. We didn't have a car as you certainly don't need one. The village of Villefranche-sur-Mer has everything you could need from shops, supermarkets, restaurants, cafe's and a wonderful beach. We also walked to Beaulieu-sur-Mer and to St Jean Cap Ferrat - both stunningly beautiful and easy to get to on foot. There is also a train station at Villefranche which we took regularly. Trains are roughly every half an hour and you can travel quickly and cheaply along much of the Cote d'Azur. During our stay we used the train to visit Cannes, Antibes, Juan les Pin, Menton, Nice and Monaco. We also travelled to Eze Village (though for Eze you need to catch the train to Eze-sur-Mer and then hop on a bus up to the village). All very easy and quicker than a car. Whilst in Villefranche we also hired a boat from Dark Pelican and had a lovely day going around Cap Ferrat to Beaulieu and back, anchoring off at little bays and having a picnic or a swim around. We'd never hired a boat before incidentally but it was very easy to pilot and navigate - highly recommend it if you get the chance. As for Mattie, I'd like to give her 5 stars too. She was always extremely helpful, always got back to us very quickly, often within minutes actually and was always available. Best recommendation I could give her is that I would certainly book through her again without question. Thank you Mattie. The same goes for the owner of Bella Vista who met us and gave us the key on arrival. She was the perfect 'meet and greet' host, showing us around, explaining how everything worked and once again was always there if we needed to ask her anything. Please pass on our gratitude to her Mattie. The only sad thing to report is that we finally had to leave. However, I am sure we will be back - sooner rather than later.

August 2016

We spent a week (mid-August 2016) in Villefranche at Bella-Vista and can only describe the apartment and surroundings using superlatives! The apartment was excellent - more space than we needed (we were a couple and a teenage daughter) and the kitchen facilities were better than home. I wish my wife hadn't seen it. The balcony was small - but sit-able, and the view was unsurpassed - literally a stone's throw from the water. Would we go again? Absolutely!

 

Reviews for London Apartments

Neal Street, Covent Garden

May 2017

We were very impressed with the flat and the hospitality upon our arrival. The flat was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The roof top terrace was such a wonderful touch which we used several times

May 2017

You'd think that a flat smack in the centre of Seven Dials would be a loud, loud place. You'd be wrong. Perhaps it was the effect of an acoustic shadow in the area but at night you can sleep (in the amazingly comfortable bed) in complete silence! We felt like the owners thought of everything: great bed, nice amenities, stylish bathroom with plenty of space, a roof deck (!!!), a fully functional kitchen, and last but not least an umbrella and shoe polishing kit. Really, kidding aside, it is absolute gem in the heart of the city that makes you wish that you had found the place sooner.

January 2017 

The flat was in a great spot. You could walk down the street for about five minutes and be at the tube. You could also walk to many destinations that you may like to visit The flat was comfortable clean and just a great place to stay. Would definitely come back for another visit. The fresh flowers were an added bonus.

 November 2016
 
I came to London to do 'Walking Dickens' London' by Lee Jackson. This apartment was in the perfect location and within walking distance to the start of all the tours. It was great being so close to Soho with all the restaurants to choose from and the flat is in a great neighborhood. The flat was very clean and comfortable and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to be in the heart of London. 
 
 August 2016
 
I visit London frequently and prefer to stay in the Covent Garden/West End area. This apartment was perfect. It is extremely well maintained and very comfortable. It is bright and clean. It is in a great location - close to everything you need - museums, restaurants, shopping. The outdoor terrace is such an added plus - to have outdoors space to enjoy. Mattie was attentive and responded very quickly to every question and need. I definitely would book it again.